About Wolverhampton Wanderers F.C.

Wolverhampton Wanderers are an English professional football club that represents the city of Wolverhampton in the West Midlands region. The club was founded in 1877 and since 1889 have played at Molineux Stadium, arguably one of the finest football stadiums in the UK.

After earning promotion from League one in 2013/14, Wolves will play in the Championship for the third consecutive season in 2016/17 after a mid-table finish. Former Italian international goalkeeper, Walter Zenga was appointed team manager for the 2016/17 season.

Historically, Wolves have been highly influential, most notably as being founder members of the Football League, as well as having played an instrumental role in the establishment of the European Cup, later to become the UEFA Champions League. Wolves are one of only three English teams that have won every division of the Football League.

Having won the FA Cup twice before the outbreak of the First World War, they developed into one of England’s leading clubs under the management of ex-player Stan Cullis after the Second World War, going on to win the league three times and the FA Cup twice more between 1949 and 1960. It was during this time that the European Cup competition was established, after the English press declared Wolves “Champions of the World” following their victories against numerous top European and World sides in some of British football’s first live televised games.

Wolves have yet to match the successes of the Stan Cullis era, although, under Bill McGarry, they contested the first-ever UEFA Cup final in 1972 and won the 1974 League Cup, a trophy they lifted again six years later under John Barnwell.

View more pro clubs


Molineux (Capacity: 30,852)
Nuno Espírito Santo
Top Goal Scorer:
Steve Bull - 250
Home Kit:
Orange shirt, Black shorts, and Orange & Black socks.
Away Kit:
Black shirt, Black/Orange shorts, Orange/Black socks.


Premier League / First Division
Winners: 1953-54, 1957-58, 1958-59Runners Up: 1937-38, 1938-39, 1949-50, 1954-55, 1959-60
Championship / Second Division
Winners: 1931-32, 1976-77, 2008-09Runners Up: 1966-67, 1982-83Play-Off Winners: 2003
League One / Third Division
Winners: 1923-24, 1988-89, 2013-14
Fourth Division
Winners: 1987-88
Runners Up: 1972
FA Cup
Winners: 1893, 1908, 1949, 1960Runners Up: 1889, 1896, 1921, 1939
Football League Cup
Winners: 1974, 1980
FA Charity Shield
Winners: 1949*, 1954*, 1959, 1960* (*joint holders)Runners Up: 1958
Football League Trophy
Winners: 1988