About Leicester City F.C.

Leicester City, also known as The Foxes, are an English professional football club based in Leicester at The King Power Stadium. Leicester City were promoted from the Championship in 2013/14, finishing as champions. In the 2014/15 season. The Foxes retained their Premier League status with a superb end of season run of 7 wins from 9 league matches to finish well clear of the relegation zone.

After the departure of Nigel Pearson, in July 2015 former Chelsea boss Claudio Ranieri took over as team manager, in what proved to be a master stroke by the club. Installed by bookmakers as pre-season as relegation favourties, in May 2016, Leicester City defied staggering pre-season odds of 5,000-1 to achieve what has widely been regarded as one of the biggest sporting shocks in history, by wining the Premier League in 2015/16.

The club was founded in 1884 , originally as Leicester Fosse, playing on a field near Fosse Road. They moved to Filbert Street in 1891 and played there for 111 years, before relocating to the nearby King Power Stadium in 2002.

Leicester were elected to the Football League in 1894. The club’s highest ever finish was second place in Division One in1928–29. The club holds six Second Division titles (prior to its becoming known as the Football League Championship) and a single League One title. LCFC have won the League Cup three times (the highest total for a club which has never won the League or the FA Cup), and FA Cup runners-up four times. The club has only spent one season outside the top two tiers of English football in its’ entire history!

The new home shirt was launched on 06/05/2016 to celebrate their Premier League title success and The Foxes will compete in The UEFA Champions League and defend their title in 2016/17.


View more pro clubs


1884 (as Leicester Foxes), Leicester City in 1919
The Foxes
King Power Stadium (Capacity: 32,262)
Michael Appleton
Premier League
Top Goal Scorer:
Arthur Chandler - 273 Goals
Home Kit:
Blue shirt, Blue shorts and Blue socks.
Away Kit:
Black shirt, Black shorts, Black socks.
Alternate Kit:
White shirts with Royal pin stripe, White shorts, and White socks.
Filbert Fox


Premier League / Football League Division 1
Winners: 2015/16 Runners-Up: 1928/29
Championship / Football League Division 2
Winners: 1924/25, 1936/37, 1953/54, 1956/57, 1976–71, 1979–80, 2013-14Runners-Up: 1907–08, 2002–03Play Off Winners: 1993–94, 1995–96
League One / Football League Division 3
Winners: 2008/09
FA Cup
Runners-Up: 1948/49, 1960/61, 1962/63, 1968/69
FA Community Shield
Winners: 1970/71 Runners-Up 2015/16
League Cup
Winners: 1963/64, 1996/97, 1999/00 Runners-Up: 1964/65, 1998/99