AboutCliftonville FC

Cliftonville Football & Athletic Club (The Reds) are a Northern Irish semi-professional football club playing in the NIFL Premiership. Founded on 20 September 1879 by John McCredy McAlery in the suburb of Cliftonville in North Belfast, it is the oldest football club in Ireland and celebrated its 130th anniversary in 2009. Since 1890, the club has played at Solitude. Cliftonville share long historical rivalries with Belfast’s Big Two clubs, Glentoran and Linfield, however the biggest rivalry is with fellow North Belfast club Crusaders. The rivalry is known as the North Belfast derby.

The club has won the Irish League championship four times and the Irish Cup eight times. Cliftonville are the current Irish League champions following their 2012–13 title success – the club’s fourth league title overall. More recently, Cliftonville won the league and challenge cups in 2015 and qualified for the Europa Cup for 2016/17 season after winning the NIFL Play-offs.

View more pro clubs


The Reds
Solitude Stadium (Capacity: 6,224)
Tommy Breslin
Irish Premiership
Top Goal Scorer:
Sean O'Kane - 54 Goals
Home Kit:
Red shirt, Red shorts and Red socks
Away Kit:
Yellow shirt, Yellow shorts and Yellow socks
Red Arnie


IFA Premiership / Irish League
Winners: 1905-06 (Shared), 1909-10, 1997-98, 2012-13, 2013-14Play-Off Winners: 2006-07
Irish Cup
Winners: 1882–83, 1887–88, 1896–97, 1899–00, 1900–01, 1906–07, 1908–09, 1978–79
Northern Ireland Football League Cup
Winners: 2003–04, 2012-13, 2013-14
Gold Cup
Winners: 1922–23, 1932–33, 1980–81
Floodlit Cup
Winners: 1995–96
County Antrim Shield Cup
Winners: 1891–92, 1893–94, 1897–98, 1925–26, 1978–79, 1996–97, 2006–07, 2008–09, 2011–12
Belfast Charity Cup
Winners: 1884, 1886, 1887, 1888, 1897, 1906, 1908, 1909, 1924
Charity Shield